Skip to content

Mammuth

Benoît Delépine & Gustave Kervern

10.09 Galeries 21:15 TICKETS
Fiction . 92' . France . 2010 . FR / ST : NL

Serge Pilardosse has been working since he was 16, never unemployed, never sick. But he is missing points, some employers having forgotten to declare him!
He gets on his old motorcycle from the 1970s, a “Mammut”, and sets off to find his pay slips.
During his journey, he finds his past and his quest soon becomes secondary…

STARRING

Gérard Depardieu

Yolande Moreau

Isabelle Adjani

Miss Ming

Benoît Poelvoorde

Bouli Lanners

WRITER & DIRECTOR

Benoît Delépine & Gustave Kervern

DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY

Hugues Poulain

SOUND

Laurent Cercleux

Piste Rouge

Florian Fabre

Bruno Seznec

FILM EDITING

Stéphane Elmadjian

MUSIC

Gaëtan Roussel

PRODUCTION

Rémi Burah

Véronique Marchat

Jean-Pierre Guérin

Vanessa Fourgeaud

Raphaël Mitelberg

GMT Productions,

No Money Productions

Christophe Valette

DD Productions

Monkey Pack Film

Arte France Cinéma

DISTRIBUTION

France : Ad Vitam

International sales: Funny Balloons

Benoît Delépine & Gustave Kervern

Kervern & Delepine - credit photo Richard Dumas

Benoit Delépine and Gustave Kervern acquired their skills and knowledge working on television for 15 years, by writing and performing sketches. The former learned his skills on the programs Guignols de l’Info and Groland (both satires), and the latter on the program Le plein de Super (a rock and roll program).
They met each other whilst working together on the program Grolandsat, a liberal production which allowed them to test new narrative techniques, while at the same time allowing them to produce more elaborate short stories.
They worked together on Toc Toc Toc, a comedy series which gave them the opportunity to meet Maurice Pialat, who would encourage them to move into cinema, and Don Quichotte de La Revolucion, a road movie about an anarchist biker who is accompanied by a pizza-delivery boy on a moped.
For their first film as directors, Aaltra (shown at numerous international film festivals), they wanted to show a side of life which is often missing in productions nowadays, teaming up professional actors with everyday people. They wanted to combine both visible and invisible camera styles, scripted and improvised dialogue, always exploiting, to the maximum, the locations and the characters they encountered during the production. As such, meeting Aki Kaurismaki was a seminal moment in their lives.
Their first feature film was critically acclaimed and well received by the audience, encouraging them to continue their collaboration with Avida, a metaphysical, absurd and surrealistic comedy presented at the 2006 Cannes Film Festival in official selection, out-of-competition.
Louise-Michel was their third feature film as writers-directors.
Benoit Delépine, born 1958. Gustave Kervern, born 1962.

FILMOGRAPHY

2004 : AALTRA

2006 : AVIDA

2008 : LOUISE-MICHEL

2012 : LE GRAND SOIR

2020 : EFFACER L’HISTORIQUE

Scroll To Top

Skip to content

Mammuth

Benoît Delépine & Gustave Kervern

10.09 Galeries 21:15 TICKETS
Fiction . 92' . France . 2010 . FR / ST : NL

Serge Pilardosse vient d’avoir 60 ans. Il travaille depuis l’âge de 16 ans, jamais au chômage, jamais malade. Mais l’heure de la retraite a sonné, et c’est la désillusion : il lui manque des points, certains employeurs ayant oublié de le déclarer ! Poussé par Catherine, sa femme, il enfourche sa vieille moto des années 70, une  » Mammut  » qui lui vaut son surnom, et part à la recherche de ses bulletins de salaires. Durant son périple, il retrouve son passé et sa quête de documents administratifs devient bientôt accessoire…

STARRING

Gérard Depardieu

Yolande Moreau

Isabelle Adjani

Miss Ming

Benoît Poelvoorde

Bouli Lanners

WRITER & DIRECTOR

Benoît Delépine & Gustave Kervern

DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY

Hugues Poulain

SOUND

Laurent Cercleux

Piste Rouge

Florian Fabre

Bruno Seznec

FILM EDITING

Stéphane Elmadjian

MUSIC

Gaëtan Roussel

PRODUCTION

Rémi Burah

Véronique Marchat

Jean-Pierre Guérin

Vanessa Fourgeaud

Raphaël Mitelberg

GMT Productions,

No Money Productions

Christophe Valette

DD Productions

Monkey Pack Film

Arte France Cinéma

DISTRIBUTION

France : Ad Vitam

International sales: Funny Balloons

Benoît Delépine & Gustave Kervern

Kervern & Delepine - credit photo Richard Dumas

Benoit Delépine et Gustave Kervern ont acquis leurs connaissances en travaillant à la télévision pendant 15 ans, en écrivant et en jouant des sketches. Le premier a fait ses armes dans les émissions Guignols de l’Info et Groland (deux satires), le second dans l’émission Le plein de Super (une émission de rock’n’roll).
Ils se sont rencontrés en travaillant ensemble sur l’émission Grolandsat, une production libérale qui leur a permis de tester de nouvelles techniques narratives, tout en leur permettant de produire des nouvelles plus élaborées.
Ils travaillent ensemble sur Toc Toc Toc, une série comique qui leur donne l’occasion de rencontrer Maurice Pialat, qui les encouragera à passer au cinéma, et Don Quichotte de La Revolucion, un road movie sur un motard anarchiste accompagné d’un livreur de pizza en mobylette.
Pour leur premier film en tant que réalisateurs, Aaltra (présenté dans de nombreux festivals internationaux), ils ont voulu montrer un aspect de la vie qui manque souvent dans les productions actuelles, en associant des acteurs professionnels à des gens ordinaires. Ils voulaient combiner des styles de caméra visibles et invisibles, des dialogues scénarisés et improvisés, en exploitant toujours au maximum les lieux et les personnages qu’ils ont rencontrés pendant la production. À ce titre, leur rencontre avec Aki Kaurismaki a été un moment décisif dans leur vie.
Leur premier long métrage est acclamé par la critique et bien accueilli par le public, ce qui les encourage à poursuivre leur collaboration avec Avida, une comédie métaphysique, absurde et surréaliste présentée au Festival de Cannes 2006 en sélection officielle, hors compétition.
Louise-Michel est leur troisième long métrage en tant qu’auteurs-réalisateurs.
Benoit Delépine, est né en 1958. Gustave Kervern est né en 1962.

FILMOGRAPHY

2004 : AALTRA

2006 : AVIDA

2008 : LOUISE-MICHEL

2012 : LE GRAND SOIR

2020 : EFFACER L’HISTORIQUE

Scroll To Top